The second movement of Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony. The horn solo begins at 50 seconds.

The Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64 by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky was composed during 1888 placing the piece in the Romantic period of music.

The horn is a brass instrument made of tubing wrapped into a coil with a flared bell. It is often called the French Horn and is thought by many to be the most beautifully sounding instrument in an orchestra.

Paxman Online Store | Yamaha YHR567 Full Double French Horn

The horn’s mellow sound can turn a simple tune into something that both soothes and lifts the spirit. Horns can also be tremendously powerful and when the whole section plays loudly the sound will break through any orchestral texture. Today’s piece contains perhaps the biggest horn solo in orchestral horn repertoire and demonstrates the above description perfectly. The horn solo (see below) is marked ‘dolce con molto express.‘ which is Italian for sweetly with much expression. Listen out for how the soloist interprets this and how he also adds much expression through the use of crescendos and diminuendos.

Elements Dynamics Crescendo And Diminuendo - Lessons - Tes Teach
Horn Solo at the beginning of the second movement.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s