The Partita No. 3 in E major for solo violin was composed by Johann Sebastian Bach. Today’s piece is the first movement, Preludio (a short introduction).

  1. Preludio
  2. Loure
  3. Gavotte en Rondeau
  4. Menuets (I and II)
  5. Bourrée
  6. Gigue

Bach based the composition on the characters of various dances and set the tone with the high-spirited Preludio. The Preludio is noble, dignified and stately, and refers to French court music. Listen out for the subtle changes in dynamics, ascending and descending sequences, the fast tempo and the use of very short notes (semi-quavers) throughout the piece.

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 – 1750) was a German composer, organist, harpsichordist, violist, and violinist of the Baroque period.

He is regarded by many as one of the greatest composers of all time and has arguably had the biggest impact on the music that followed. Many top conductors, composers and performers name him as their biggest influence.

Listen to more Bach here:

How Bach's anatomy may have handed him greatness | National Geographic

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s