This piece was written in 1904 by Italian composer Vittorio Monti. It is based on the Hungarian folk dance the czárdás, which starts slowly and gradually gets faster. In Monti’s Czárdás, the sections alternate between slow and accelerando, and major and minor keys. From 2:56 you can hear the violinist playing stopped harmonics, where you press down normally on the string, but also (with a different finger) 5 semitones above, creating a note 2 octaves higher with a ‘ghostly’ tone.

hungary map

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s